The Spark Blogfest

The Spark Blogfest

This is hosted by Christine Tyler, in which the Spark Blogfest asks three key questions about inspiration. (I love the word ‘doomed’ in the first question!)

1. What book made you realize you were doomed to be a writer? 

There was no specific text that acted as a knell or an augury because I was only six years old. But I had a teacher who would read out some Roald Dahl to keep us occupied, and during those sessions I discovered that stories trump television every time. In school anything I wrote in English Composition class would end up displayed on the school’s Open Day noticeboard or get sent to the principal, and I’d panic because I thought I’d done something wrong. Now I realize I was doing something very right.

When I was sixteen I picked up an excellent Icon guide to Franz Kafka and decided to try The Metamorphosis and The Trial. These two works demonstrated that fiction is an instant passport to another person’s headspace and the immense skill required of a writer to draw the reader in. Inception? Fight Club? Contemporary cinematic nightmares in a damaged brain are nothing compared to Gregor Samsa’s and Josef K’s ordeals.

2. What author set off that spark of inspiration for your current Work in Progress?

I have a few WIPS with a spec fic bent. I always return to Aldous Huxley, H.G Wells and Arthur C.Clarke. All writers who saw so far into the future that the present is still catching up with their predictions. “How did they know?” I used to wonder at their extrapolations, although judging from the state of the early 21st century, the question is now, “How could they not have known?!”

3. Is there a book or author that changed your world view?

All books and writers invariably change your perception in varying degrees, if we’re going with the more encompassing interpretation of world view (weltanschauung).

10 thoughts on “The Spark Blogfest”

  1. Kafka’s Metamorphosis has the power to make the hairs on my arm stand up. As a writer, I think it’s brilliant. As someone completely creeped out by bugs, I found it disturbing.

    I’m impressed by your list of works and authors! Best of luck with your WIPs!

  2. I’m always so impressed by the sci-fi writers who predicted so far into our future. In some ways it seems like our imaginations haven’t yet exceeded theirs. They definitely took the idea of world-building to an entirely new level!

  3. I can remember reading Kafka in college – and kicking myself thoroughly for not choosing Metamorphosis from the reading list in High School instead of Moby Dick. (No offense to Melville fans.)
    Thought I’d stop by and introduce myself as one of the hosts of the Rule Of Three Blogfest. Looking forward to getting to know you, and seeing where your imagination takes us :-)

  4. I actually like the frank stance you took on the last question. I’ve heard that you can never have the same exact dream twice, because the experiences you have between dreaming change you ever so slightly, so even if you think you’ve had a repeat-dream, variations in your subconscious make this impossible. So your world view can never be quite the same once you’ve read a book. Small alterations and such. I won’t bother to try and sound intelligent about it. Hopefully a mini-ramble will suffice. Thanks for sharing your sparks!

  5. Hey! Just dropped by to follow ahead of the Rule of Three blogfest.

    I don’t think I have a specific book that triggered me to write in general, but books have triggered me to write specific stories. I guess the fact that my gran made a living as a writer always left it as a possibility to me. :-)

Leave a Reply

