Super 8 Debut logo

Super 8 Debut Albums Blog Hop

You’re allowed to go all “High Fidelity” on your blog once in a while because music is still the most immediate and visceral of the creative arts… Thank you to Disconnected for hosting this Blog Hop. What were your top 8 debut albums by any artiste? Which ones hold a special place in your collection?  List them in the comments below.

1. The Kick Inside, Kate Bush (1979)

Stunning, eerie and unique. Bought off the popularity of the single ‘Wuthering Heights’ and me believing that the song would help me cram for an English Literature exam. Never bettered but Kate Bush later equalled this album with Hounds of Love in 1985.

 

 

 

 

2. High Land Hard Rain (1983)

Imagine writing and recording a debut album with the full force and quality of a greatest hits collection at the age of eighteen, when the other kids are still smoking behind the bicycle shed and coping with adolescent crushes. Roddy Frame still awes me every time I listen to this.

 

 

 

 

 

3. When I first heard The Clash’s self-titled debut album as a student, I couldn’t make out the lyrics and I thought the running time was ridiculous (28 minutes!). But political songs like ‘White Riot’ are incendiary enough to make you trash a hotel room – or the entire hotel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4.My Aim is True (1978)

I remember buying this and listening to it one song per day. Since I bought the special reissued edition with an extra CD of outtakes and demos, that meant I took a month to finish this album. Why? The human brain can only absorb so much genius at one go.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5. Read My Lips, Sophie EllisBextor (2001)

F**k  Lady Gaga, this album is the real deal in dance music: smart, witty and classy.Suitable for club or lounge and everyone loves shouting out the chorus of ‘Murder On the Dancefloor’.  She ain’t no disco-dolly either. Ten years is an eternity in the music industry these days. Ms. Ellis Bextor  will release her latest album, Bittersweet in June 2011.

 

 

 

 

 

6.The Lexicon of Love, ABC (1982)

The 2000 reissue states that playing this record will make your stereo system sound like it was secretly serviced while you were out. This is absolutely true. I still use this album to test speakers and other audio equipment. Oh, and the music is superb. If  “The Look of Love” doesn’t get your fingers snapping and “All of My Heart” doesn’t break your heart, it means you don’t have fingers or a heart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7. Killing In the Name Rage Against the Machine (1992)

While everyone was caught up in the grunge maelstrom, this album emerged and made that maelstrom look like a spring breeze. The lyrics are perfectly clear too.

8. It’s You, It’s Me, Kaskade (2003)

Question: How can an album that’s so laidback also sound so danceable? Kaskade (real name Ryan Raddon) continues to work his strange alchemy on the dance and house scene to this day.

9 thoughts on “Super 8 Debut Albums Blog Hop”

  1. I am very familiar with the Costello album. The others I am aware of but have not really listened to any of them, but I know they are highly regarded. I think these lists will reflect a lot about our ages.
    I enjoyed your list. Mine will go up on Monday. Hope you’ll check it out–it is very different from yours. I guess it’s an age thing.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. Diverse mix of albums. Love Costello, and I have the Clash too, although I prefer their Combat Rock the best. The Hounds of Love is a great album. I really enjoyed her MTV videos too back in the day. I’ve always sort of enjoyed ABC, but never picked up their albums. Rage Against the Machine, nice little raw ditty that one. Some of your other picks I’m going to have to do a search on. Thanks.

  3. Elvis Costello’s ‘My Aim Is True’ very nearly made my list. In fact, it WAS on my list until I figured out a way to justify the inclusion of Van Morrison’s ‘Astral Weeks’. At that point, Costello got removed. But I still consider him one of the most influential artists of the New Wave/Punk era that I grew up in. And I still LOVE “I’m Not Angry” and “Waiting For The End Of The World”. Why? Because – like Costello – I AM angry, and I AM just waiting for the end of the world!!

    ~ D-FensDogg
    ‘Loyal American Underground’

  4. Great list-Elvis Costello was the definite angry young man-I kicked that album around for inclusion on my list.

    The Clash was a solid debut, although I am partial to “London Calling.”

    Thanks for joining in!

    Larry

Leave a Reply

